Tuesday 29 January 2019

FIA WEC: New entry list for Sebring, Corvette returns to GTE Pro.

A new and updated entry list for the inaugural 1000 miles of Sebring has been released by the FIA WEC this morning.  The highly anticipated return of the World Endurance Championship to the mythical track in Florida now has 35 cars on its entry list & some new & returning drivers to the paddock.  Probably the most exciting news is the addition of the Corvette C7.R in the GTE Pro class.

© 2018 Joao Filipe/AdrenalMedia.com


Nathanaël Berthon has already been announced by Rebellion for the remainder of the Super season, he will replace Mathias Beche in the #3 Gibson powered Rebellion R13.  

A few changes are to be noted at SMP Racing too.  Jenson Button won't race in Sebring and at Spa, Sebring clashing with other racing commitments in Japan.  His place in the #11 BR1 is still vacant at this moment.  In the #17 sister car, Matevos Isaakyan will be replaced by Sergey Sirotkin.  The Russion former F1 driver is set for his second appearance in the FIA WEC after Le Mans 2017.  

ByKolles hasn't named any of their drivers for Sebring, but it's expected that Oliver Webb and Tom Dillman will return behind the wheel of the #4 Enso CLMP1/01. 


LMP2 sees a complete new driver line-up in the #37 Jackie Chan DC Racing which has been announced this morning.  David Heinemeier Hansson and Will Stevens return to the LMP2 class in the FIA WEC and will be joined by endurance rookie Jordan King.

Jean Baptiste Simmenauer replaces Enzo Guibbert in the #50 Larbre Competition Ligier. Simmenauer is a 19 year old French driver, who has been racing in the German and French Porsche Carrera cup last year


The biggest news in GTE is the addition of Corvette to the Pro class. After racing in the 6 hours of  Shanghai last year, Corvette enters a single C7.R driven by Jan Magnussen, Antonio Garcia and Mike Rockenfeller in Sebring.

Other additions in the GTE Pro class are BMW's third drivers for the 1000 mile race. Alexander Sims will join Martin Tomczyk and Nick Catsburg in the #81 M8 GTE; Bruno Spengler will be in the #82 next to Augusto Farfus and Antonio Felix da Costa.

Darren Turner has been confirmed as the third driver for the #95 Aston Martin Vantage of Nicki Thiim and Marco Sorensen.  No word yet on an extra driver for the #97 of Alex Lynn and Maxime Martin. Ford hasn't listed any third drivers yet for both GT's.  Daniel Serra (#51) and Miguel Molina (#71) will join AF Corse in Florida.


There's still a few seats to be filled in the GTE Am class.  Matt Griffin gets 2 new co-drivers in the #61 Clearwater Racing Ferrari after Weng Sun Mok's retirement from racing at the end of the 6 Hours of Shanghai.  Griffin will be joined by Argentinian Luis Perez Companc and Italian Matteo Cressoni.  Dempsey Proton Racing still has 3 open seats to fill in. Julian Andlauer and Matt Campbell have been confirmed in the #77 Porsche 911 RSR, while Matteo Cairoli is the only driver in the #88 so far. 

Download the updated entry list here.