Sunday 22 January 2017

13 automatic entries for Le Mans known after the Asian Le Mans Series finale.

With the Asian Le Mans Series closing down their season after the final race in Sepang this morning, 13 of the 14 auto-invitations for this years 24 Hours of Le Mans are known right now.

Three class winners in the Asian LMS are granted an auto-entry for the 24 Hours: 

- Algarve Pro Racing as LMP2 and Asian Le Mans Series champions; 
- Tockwith Motorsports as LMP3 champion (invite in LMP2); 
- DH Racing (Ferrari) as GT3 champion (invite in LM GTE-Am)

Four cars earned an auto invite by winning their class in the European Le Mans Series: 

- G-Drive Racing as LMP2 and championship winner;
- United Autosports as LMP3 champion (invite in LMP2);
- Beachdean Aston Martin Racing as GTE-AM champion (invite in GTE-Pro or Am);
- JMW Motorsport as runner up in the GTE-Am class (invite in GTE-Pro or Am).

The 2016 Michelin GT3 Le Mans Cup champions also earned an entry on the GTE-Am class: 

© Gabi Tomescu/

- TF Sport (Aston Martin). 

The first four entries were already known at the end of last years Le Mans: 

- Porsche in LMP1 as Le Mans winner;
- Signatech Alpine in LMP2 als LMP2 winner;
- Ford Chip Ganassi as LM GTE-Pro winner;
- Scuderia Corsa Ferrari as LM GTE-Am winner.

The IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship also has been granted 2 entries for the French classic. The first one has already been assigned to Scuderia Corse for a second Ferrari in the GTE-Am class. The second entry should go to an LMP2 team. Visit Florida Racing seems to be in pole position for this one, although the Riley/Multimatic of Ben Keating might be another contender (depending on their programme for this year).

- Scuderia Corsa (Ferrari) in GTE -Am
- tba LMP2

On February 2nd all 60 invited entries for the 24 Hours of Le Mans will be announced at a press conference, as well as the confirmed entry lists for the FIA World Endurance Championship and the European Le Mans Series.

Kristof Vermeulen.