Friday 23 September 2016

European Le Mans Series - 4 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps: Friday practice sessions

After an incident free first practice session this afternoon, the #21 Dragonspeed Oreca05/Nissan of Hendrik Hedman, Nicolas Lapierre and Ben Hanley set the fastest time in the Ardennes.

Nicolas Lapierre was the fastest man on track with a 2.08.629, closely followed by Stefano Coletti in the #32 SMP Racing BR01, just 0.098 seconds behind the Frenchman. Third fastest was Olivier Pla in his #40 Krohn Racing Ligier in 2.08.832. The first six cars in the LMP2 class finished within one second. Newcomers WRT were sixth fastest, Laurens Vanthoor putting a 2.09.582 on the table.

Championship leaders Thiriet by TDS Racing set the fourth fastest time, their nearest competitors G-Drive Racing didn't get further than 11th fastest.

In LMP3 the #2 United Autosports Ligier was fastest overall in 2.15.517 with Alex Brundle at the wheel. Brundle was 0.611 seconds faster than the #16 Panis Barthez Competition driven by Simon Gachet. Yann Erlacher completed the top 3 in the M. Racing YMR Ligier.

Quickest in the GTE class was Allesandro Pier Guidi in the #56 AT Racing Ferrari in 2.19.130. Pier Guidi was 0.290 seconds faster than fellow Italian Andrea Bertolini in the #66 JMW Ferrari. Wolf Henzler set the third fastest time in the #77 Proton Competition Porsche, nearly 0.6 seconds slower than Pier Guidi.

In  the Bronze driver collective test this morning, Fabien Barthez set the fastest time in his #23 Panis-Barthez Competition Ligier JSP2. Barthez' fastest lap in 2.13.970 was 1.357 seconds faster than Michael Munemann in the #25 Algarve Pro Racing Ligier. Third fastest was Thomas Laurent in the #18 M Racing YMP Ligier LMP3.  

Alexander Talkanitsa was the fastest GT driver, with a laptime of 2.22.517 in his #56 AT Racing Ferrari. Gianluca Roda set the second fastest time in the #88 Proton Porsche (2.22.715) ahead of Pierguiseppe Perazzini in the #51 AF Corse Ferrari F458.

The second free practice session for the European Le Mans Series is scheduled tomorrow morning at 9.30h. The qualifying sessions will be run in the afternoon, starting at 13.25h. 

Results Bronze collective driver test
Results Free Practice 1

Kristof Vermeulen.